Burlap Wreath

Its Fall y’all and I have to admit, I really enjoy this season. I love pumpkin EVERYTHING…beer, lattes, cupcakes, scones, candles, oh yeah and pie too.

Its so nice to warm things up in our homes as the temp cools. Like baking some cinnamon oatmeal cookies and breaking out the yummy candles, things are starting to smell really good around here.

A fun part of this time of year is planning our second annual Chilly Weather Chillin with Chili where lively discussions ensue about Beans vs. No Beans, figuring out what’s in mystery crockpot #3, and our favorite part…the end of night What Plagues You Poll: Gas or Heartburn. I try to plan a backyard scavenger hunt and a fall craft for the kids. We build a fire and make smores. There’s cornhole competitions and lots of other stuff. It was a hoot last year so we are excited about round two.

So with the maple tree in my front yard turning bright orange I figured its officially time to switch out my front door wreath.

I came across this lovely tutorial to make your own any season wreath using burlap and since I’m currently in love with burlap I wanted to try it.

It was from Laura at Top This Top That and it was so pretty. You can check out her great blog and see the tutorial yourself by clicking on her link or this picture.

I went to Michael’s and got a $2 green wire wreath (mine was smaller than hers), a $6.99 spool of 4″ burlap (used less than 10 yds), and some cinnamon mini pine cones that were on sale for $3.

Burlapwreathhowto

I followed her instructions exactly but I will say that you do need to twist as you loop so your loops won’t look perfectly uniform. Also, I didn’t go in a specific pattern like from inside to outside or vice versa I just kept it random. She was right, it was super easy and I love how it turned out!

BurlapWreathII

I just wedged the pine cones into the burlap so I could remove them when the season was over.

BurlapWreathI

The little hanging tag I got at a dollar store on the cheap.  Its just tied on as well.

BurlapWreathIII

The berry sprig adds really pretty color and I got it at Michael’s in the clearance area.

Well, what do you think?  Have you done anything to “fall” up your place yet? Any good ideas?

A little update: I wanted to share this picture with you to show how great this wreath is.  I use it everywhere, not just on my front door!

DiningTableCenterPiece

Linked to:

Young House Love Pinterest Challenge

From My Front Porch To Yours

Miss Mustard Seed FFF

27 thoughts on “Burlap Wreath

  1. Pingback: SHOW-licious Sunday Crafts {Link Party} #1 |

  2. Pingback: Guest Post-Little Cottage of Mine {Burlap Wreath} |

    • Thanks, I’m pretty pleased with it. It took some playing around to get the hag of, but I’m excited to try again. I just ordered 100 yds of burlap to make 10 more. Hopefully they’ll turn out. Glad you stopped by Pamela!

  3. Pingback: Dining In Progress | Little Cottage of Mine

  4. Pingback: DIY Spring Burlap Wreath

  5. Pingback: Saturday SHOW-licious Craft Showcase {Link Party} #1 -

Leave a comment