YHL’s Unofficial Macklemore Thrift Shop Challenge

Last Friday the Petersik’s over at Young House Love threw out a little challenge of the thrift shop variety.  Oh and by the way it was based on Macklemore’s new hit song Thrift Shop.  Haven’t heard of him?  Yeah, me either but he’ll be on your playlist soon enough.  You can check out the full story here.

Now, I can’t say that I necessarily share Sherry’s adoration for white rappers.  If you follow the Petersiks even occasionally you know that she down right loves em.  But this video had me rollin (the PG version of course) and how can I say no to this picture?  So I was more than excited to accept this challenge.

So to participate you simply had to follow four easy steps.

Step 1.  Go to a thrift shop with “$20 in your pocket” and take a picture.

Thrift Shop Challenge I

Gangsta eh?

Step 2.  Spend that $20 anyway you’d like and photograph your spoils.

Toys are my favorite thing to buy at thrift stores because so many of them are barely used and once cleaned up they are practically new.  Plus there’s a huge opportunity for savings, I spent less than $15!  No need to “pop tags” here.

Thrift Shop Challenge III

Step 3.  Find one or more items referenced in the song and snap a pic.

Which brings me to the lovely opportunity of introducing you to this very special (and by special I mean smelly and gross) fring-y suede coat the color of…well, you will just have to listen to the song. 

Thrift Shop Challenge II

So there you have it!  Macklemore Thrift Shop Challenge completed!  I’ll be linking up over at YHL here to share my spoils and see what kinda craziness everyone else came up with!  Have you been thrifting lately?  Definitely share the link in your comment, I would love to see it!

Kelli

10 thoughts on “YHL’s Unofficial Macklemore Thrift Shop Challenge

Leave a Reply

