Caving under the Clutter

Cozy Cottage or Clutter Capital?

Does one have to equal the other?  I love my little wee of a house but sometimes I find myself wading through clutter up to my eyeballs.

via

A scene I’m sure most would definitely understand (cue the dreadful music and panic stricken faces)…the little things start to take over.  Toys, mail, stuff brought in from the car, clothes, laundry OH the endless laundry…you get the idea.

If not nipped day in and day out in the proverbial  bud these little things become the most insurmountable, hugest, highly annoying chore EVER.   Maybe a little clutter here and there is no big deal if you live in a standard size house.  Ah, the good ol’ junk drawer with random paper clips and old keys or a guest closet full of winter coats and extra picture frames.  But when you share 850 square feet with three people even a teeny amount of clutter wanted or unwanted can drive a normal person cray cray.  Junk drawers and the luxurious “extra” closet do not exist in my world!  So where does everything random end up?

The answer is ALL OVER.

Someone please tell me that its possible to live a clutter free existence in a small house!  Don’t get me wrong, I certainly don’t want to win any awards for having an inspection worthy home.  Apparently I couldn’t even if I wanted to…haha

via

But a proper place for things isn’t too much to ask is it?

When we first moved in we had a lot of stuff.  Some went into the attic, some into the basement, some sold in a yard sale and some hit the curb.  We did good.  But hey, I’m a woman who just got a new house…

I seriously have to resist the urge.  Every.  Day.

Now that we’ve been in our little cottage for a year and a half its high time we figure this whole thing out and that my friends means its time for A LIST!

A clutter busting get in control kind of list.

  • Paper Piles: If its important it has a home…in a folder…in a cabinet.  Designate mail, coupon, menu spot.
  • Product Piles: Organize medicine, seasonal products, cleaning products.
  • Closets:  Reevaluate current wardrobes and designate a coat rack for winter coats.
  • Office: Organize laundry, book shelf, closet, office stuff.

To make sure that I stay committed to completing this list I will share my projects with you as I go, that’s right I feel a series coming on.  I will tackle closets, nooks and crannies and actually create a solution to this problem not just de-clutter.

So I need some help!  Do you know of any great storage solutions for tight spaces?  Any ideas for keeping office supplies in order and actually having some style too?  Please share if you’ve gone through this process before, I’m a girl who loves inspiration!

Also, what should I call this series?  Any clever titles?  Danny suggested Cookie Clutter.  I thought it would be fun to tackle a project and then reward ourselves when its completed.  Which in our house a reward means cookies. #EATALLTHECOOKIES!

Of course I’ll have to share a recipe in each Cookie Clutter post.  Cheesy?  Yes, but that’s never stopped me!

16 thoughts on “Caving under the Clutter

  1. Hey Kelli!

    I am so excited to be a subscriber! You are just so adorable! And so talented! I love repurposing, designing and organizing too. So your blog is right up my alley. I’m wondering if you are for hire? If I give you a piece of furniture? I’m so happy to have met you and glad our daughters have become friends too!

    Not sure if you have the space, but my sister and I just decluttered her desk. We took hollow books and filled them with paper items and things that she doesn’t use every day. We stacked them on her desk and they look nice! you can also put them on a bookshelf. It freed up space on her desk for the items she uses daily.
    Pretty and functional!

    💜 Love, Michele

    • Hey Michelle! You are so sweet! We’ve got to get together soon! Thanks so much for subscribing it really means a lot, I love your hollowed book idea! We can definitely talk if you have a piece of furniture in mind :). Talk to you soon 🙂

  2. Love the post! I have the junk drawers and extra closets but the clutter still multiplies. I think part of our problem is that I’m one of four that adds to the clutter but only one of four that declutters! I could use these ideas and can’t wait for your series! Besides, I come from the same line of fascinating women that you do. 😉

    • Oh man I’m going to take one huge pile on and figure it out as I go! I totally agree about being the only one who declutters, I got the same prob over here :). But we’ll get er done!

  3. Oh my, I laughed throughout this WHOLE post. I love the little photos you added. Do y’all have a container store? I love the name that Dan came up with, and yes cheesy things have never stopped you. 🙂

    • I’m so glad you laughed that makes me happy 🙂 I wish we did have a container store, that’s a good place to start, I’ll look it up online :). Love you guys!

  4. I just can’t stop laughing about the “buy ALL the things” and eat ALL the coooookies!!! We are whole souled at least. Even about the “wanting” to declutter. Lol. That doesn’t mean it gets done just that we “want” it done. 🙂

  5. I can’t stand having clutter, but now with a toddler it seems almost impossible not to find cutter somewhere. I wish I could be more organized, but between busy-ness and actually wanting to spend time with my family, some things have to take a back seat!

Leave a Reply

